Banner Text

Banner Slogan

Award for Automotive Engineering

Sir Henry Royce Foundation Award for Excellence in Automotive Engineering
This award is presented to an automotive student who has made a significant contribution to the pursuit of excellence in their studies at the Victorian Kangan Insitute's Centre for Automotive Excellence. The award was first presented in 2007 and consists of a trophy and a cheque for $1,000. A perpetual trophy which records the award winners is housed in the Foundation's Archive. Award for Excellence in Automotive Engineering

2014 Award

Emily Stebbing

2013 Award

This year the award went to Chris Couwenberg a mature-aged apprentice from Yarra Trams at East Preston. Chris completed his Certificate 3 in auto, truck, bus and trailer body making in 14 months of intensive training in a course that is normally four years part-time.

right: Gilbert Ralph representing the SHRF presents Chris Couwenberg with the SHRF award for 2013


2012 Award

Not Awarded

2011 Award

The 2010 winner of the Foundation's Award for Automotive Excellence was Scott Sommer, who works for Fleetweld Pty Ltd on specialised truck bodies.

right: Scott is pictured here with Ray Griffiths, CEO of Kangan Institute on the left and the Foundation's Honorary Archivist, Gilbert Ralph on the right.


2009 Award

For 2009, the winner of the SHRFA Award for Automotive Excellence was Daniel Kostakakis a third year apprentice with Universal Smash Repairs in Williamstown.

right: Glbert Ralph presented Daniel Kostakakis with a cheque for $1,000 plus an attractive trophy.

Gilbert Ralph presented Daniel Kostakakis with a cheque for $1,000 plus an attractive trophy.

2008 Award

The winner of the 2008 Trophy was a third year spray-painting apprentice, Thang Vo. Tim Dean reported that Thang has a real passion for his trade and maintained a very keen interest in his studies - even helping other students achieve their best.

right: Tim Dean, President of the RROCA Victoria Branch represented the Trustees at the Kangan Batman awards evening when the Foundation Award for 2008 was presented.

2007 Award

It was presented for the first time in May 2007 to Mr Stuart Aisbett for his achievements at the Centre of Automotive Excellence. Later in 2007 Stuart will be representing Australia in the Vehicle Refinishing category at the Worldskills competition in Japan. The competition brings together the best students from around the world to compete in their various fields.

right: Gilbert Ralph (SHRF Honary Achivist) presented the 2007 Award to Stuart Aisbett.